Wildlife central

Having grown up in a pretty urban setting, the only animals I had seen growing up were in the zoo. When I moved to London, I saw foxes (which I mistook for stray dogs), squirrels (who used to climb up and down the building opposite my window) and endless geese and ducks. And now we are in New Zealand. We saw seals (https://mikeandyulia.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/red-rocks-reserve-and-seals/).

I saw a penguin in Island Bay (https://mikeandyulia.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/life-by-the-ocean-penguins-and-waves/)

And today we heard some noise on the deck.

When we came out to investigate we saw a guilty-looking possum with a half-eaten tomato sticking out of its mouth. (Rebecca grows tomatoes in pots on the deck). Well, actually, Mike said that there was a funny-looking cat hanging onto the fence, and then we realized it was a possum, we froze, and so did the possum. It then dropped the tomato, clumsily jumped from one step to another and ran away.

IMG_3733

In between playing Scrabble and having dinner I continued monitoring the patio, and my efforts paid off: I caught the little cute thief on camera, and this time it didn`t mind me at all and even sat on the railing for a while, apparently enjoying the ocean view.

IMG_3735 IMG_3737 IMG_3740 IMG_3742 IMG_3752

More on possums: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_brushtail_possum

Other than that, nothing is happening. I was so happy for Michael when he was done with his studies, I did some dancing for him (charlston, mostly) and hurt my foot. So yesterday we stayed in to let it rest, and only walked the 20 meters to the beach for a short (and freezing) swim

IMG_3678 IMG_3690 IMG_3696

Almost sunset at Owhiro Bay

IMG_3563 IMG_3557 IMG_3550 IMG_3538

Today the weather was chilly and gloomy, and my foot was still hurting. To test it out,  we went to a supermarket, and  I managed to hobble one way but then we took a bus back.

So,  we just stayed home, listening to the sound of waves crashing outside our windows, listening to Vivaldi and playing Scrabble  (and enjoying a glass or two of New Zealand wine). Lovely!

IMG_3721 IMG_3718 IMG_3705 IMG_3699

Image | This entry was posted in Events, Out and about, Wellington and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

