Turkey is all about bread. And breakfast buffets. And markets.

So the other day our doorbell rings at 7 a.m. We were already up since we both get up around 6.30-6.45 (I know! And we go to bed around 10 p.m.!). When I opened the door, it was our kapıcı (building super or doorman) with a basket of fresh bread at only 50 kurush (25 cents) per loaf!

1240461_10151965279909048_637599627_n

In other food-related news, I was able to find soy sauce. The reason why this trivial detail is newsworthy is that the only cuisine in Kayseri is Turkish cuisine so it’s hard to come buy such exotic ingredients as soy sauce. So I was very excited to see soy sauce and immediately grabbed a bottle and then the cashier was looking at me curiously and finally asked: Why are you buying this? What are you going to do with it? I was actually going to add it to my chicken Cesar dressing and said as much which earned me a blank look. Whatever, because I also found romaine lettuce and made my own dressing with garlic yoghurt and soy sauce which is much healthier than a real dressing and we ate the said chicken Cesar for 3 days in a row. I could have happily carried on but I`m afraid I might face mutiny from Mike. I`m also looking forward to going to Metro supermarket and getting some Asian food ingredients.

Not that Turkish food is not delicious! Last Saturday I went to a breakfast buffet with Leyla, Aslan and their adorable son. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and I love breakfast buffets so I was excited as I got on a bus at 8.20 on Saturday morning. Incidentally, the bus was packed, and the city center was bustling with activity as people were hurrying somewhere or just sitting on benches looking at passers-by.

DSC_0059The breakfast buffet did not disappoint. I couldn`t stop eating grilled aubergine (eggplant) with fresh white cheese and simit (bagel-like pastry covered with toasted sesame seeds, a favorite breakfast food here)

DSC_0062DSC_0070DSC_0069 DSC_0067 DSC_0066 DSC_0064After breakfast we took a bus to a Saturday market where I bought a ‘grandma’ shopping trolley and loaded it with fresh peaches, large ripe tomatoes and sweet pomegranates.

DSC_0089The market wasn`t very big, but I liked the relaxed atmosphere and the company in the person of Leyla and Aslan. The latter helped me bargain for the trolley which cost me 20 lira instead of 25! I was impressed! Leyla knew the best stall for getting tomatoes, which turned out to be sweet and juicy.

DSC_0073

DSC_0087 DSC_0085 DSC_0084 DSC_0083 DSC_0079 DSC_0077 DSC_0076 DSC_0072

Giant cabbages

DSC_0071In the evening a few colleagues of Mike and Leyla and Aslan came over and we had a lovely potluck dinner

1255207_10151968016084048_1301790394_n531967_10151968083764048_1651474312_n

Image | This entry was posted in Eating Out, Expat life, Food, Kayseri, Market, Out and about, Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

